Events

Port Fonty Days:
These are usually Sundays, when a few members get together at the boat house and have an outing on the river, returning for a picnic lunch. The Society boats are used and those of members who are there. It is a good opportunity for members without boats to come along and join a crew – if you are not very experienced there will always be someone to coach you. You need to inform Jolyon (jolyon@ttbs.org) if you intend to come along as getting crews organised is essential for a reasonable departure time!

Sun 6th Feb 2022 Winter Walk near Marlow – contact Nick Fonty
Sun 6th Mar 2022 Winter Walk – TBA
Sat 26th Mar 2022 AGM
Sun 27th Mar 2022 Port Fonty Day
Sunday 3rd April The Varsity Boat Race Flotilla
Sun 10th April 2022 Spring Lunch
Sun 24th April 2022 Was Port Fonty Day – This event has been moved to Mon 2nd May 2022
Mon 2nd May 2022 Port Fonty Open Day

We hope this will be a good social day with a BBQ available, a chance to see the new pontoon and an opportunity for family members to try the new boat and generally meet up. Those wanting to boat come at 10 o’clock and those just socialising from midday onwards.

Do let Jolyon (jolyon@ttbs.org) know if you are coming so crews can be organised.

Sun 15th May 2022 Was Port Fonty Day – This event has been moved to Sun 22nd May 2022
Sun 22nd May 2022

Port Fonty Day

Do let Jolyon (jolyon@ttbs.org) know if you are coming so crews can be organised. Usually members bring a picnic lunch.

Sat 28th May 2022 Visit to Fawley Hill Museum
Sat 4th June 2022

Platinum Jubilee Windsor Flotilla.

Contact Iain (vicecaptain@ttbs.org) for details.

Sun 5th June 2022

Platinum Jubilee Boating Day – from Radley College to Abingdon Marina – bring a picnic lunch. Members with boats usually have spare spaces.

Contact Jolyon (jolyon@ttbs.org) to let him know you are coming so crews can be organised.

Sat 11th June 2022

Tudor Pull – Iain is organising crew for Sgian Dubh for this Tideway trip.

Contact Iain (vicecaptain@ttbs.org) for details.

Sun 12th June Port Fonty Day

Contact  Jolyon (jolyon@ttbs.org) to do let him know if you are coming so crews can be organised. Usually members bring a picnic lunch.

Sun 19th June 2022

Canoe Day on the River Cherwell organised by Susan Greenford. Gather at 10.30 am at the Victoria Arms, Oxford to go upstream.

Contact Susan Greenford (boats@ttbs.org) to ensure she knows who is coming.

Wed 22rd June to Wed 29th June 2022

TTBS 40th Anniversary Cruise from Lechlade to Teddington – postponed from 2020. We are seeking crew to do part or the whole trip. Numbers are needed to finalise arrangements. Boats will need to be fully crewed for this trip and you are welcome to join us for a day as we go down the river.

Contact: Graham Hubbard – captain@ttbs.org

Sun 10th July 2022

Port Fonty Day

Contact  Jolyon (jolyon@ttbs.org) to do let him know if you are coming so crews can be organised. Usually members bring a picnic lunch.

Thu 14th July 2022

Work Party for the Thames Traditional Boat Festival at Henley: we have to transport all our chairs, tables and the marquee to the site and erect the tentage etc.

Meanwhile the Society boats are sculled from Port Fonty to our moorings.

Crews are needed for this and the return trip on Monday 18th. Let Iain (vicecaptain@ttbs.org) know if you can help.

Fri 15th July to Sun 17th July 2022 We will be at the Thames Traditional Boat Festival (www.tradboatfestival.com) on Fawley Meadow, Henley.

Contact: Iain Symon at vicecaptain@ttbs.org

The tent needs a member(s) in attendance the whole time to encourage visitors to take an interest in our activities. It is a good opportunity to meet other members and take part in a row past. If you haven’t visited the show recently there are all manner of other interesting things to see.

Mon 18th July 2022 Scull boats back from the Thames Traditional Boat Festival at Henley to Port Fonty. Crews are needed: let Iain (vicecaptain@ttbs.org) know if you can help.
1st – 12th Aug 2022

Summer Cruise on the River Meuse in northern France. This trip is being organised together with the French canoeists, Carre des Canotiers. Some of our Dutch members will be joining the cruise.

Please contact: Graham Hubbard (captain@ttbs.org) if you are interested.

Sun 21st Aug 2022 Port Fonty Day

Contact  Jolyon (jolyon@ttbs.org) to do let him know if you are coming so crews can be organised. Usually members bring a picnic lunch.

27th – 29th Aug 2022 Family bank holiday weekend.

Contact Susan Greenford (susangreenford@uwclub.net)

Sat 10th Sept 2022 The Great River Race
Sun 18th Sept 2022 Temple Boating day
Sun 25th Sept 2022 Canoe Day 2

Contact: Iain Symon at vicecaptain@ttbs.org

Sat 1st Oct 2022 Punting Day in Oxford
Sun 9th Oct 2022 End of Season Boating Day
Sat 15th Oct 2022 Autumn Social 
5th and 6th Nov 2022 Winter walk weekend
Sat 12th Nov 2022 Annual Dinner
Sun 4th Dec 2022 Winter walk