Skip to content

Events

Port Fonty Days:
These are usually Sundays, when a few members get together at the boat house and have an outing on the river, returning for a picnic lunch. The Society boats are used and those of members who are there. It is a good opportunity for members without boats to come along and join a crew – if you are not very experienced there will always be someone to coach you. You need to inform Jolyon (jolyon@ttbs.org) if you intend to come along as getting crews organised is essential for a reasonable departure time!

Sat 7th Jan 2023 Third winter walk. Led by Birgit in the Ashtead and Epsom area. Not that this is a Saturday, not the usual Sunday.
Sun 5th Feb 2023 Fourth winter walk. Led by Nick in the Hambleden Valley.
Sun 26 Feb 2023 Port Fonty tidy up day.
Sun 5th Mar 2023 Fifth Winter walk. Led by Cliff.
Sun 12th Mar 2023 Port Fonty day
Sat 18th Mar 2023 Society AGM at the Church Centre at Wargrave at 2:30pm.
Sat 1st Apr to Sun 2nd Apr 2023 Highly respected boat builder and restorer, Colin Henwood, will be running a two day workshop at Port Fonty. Participants are expected to attend both days, from 10am to 4pm. Spaces are limited to 8 people. We expect that this event will be over-subscribed, and the names of those successful will be drawn out of a Society boater on 31st January. If interested, please contact Graham Hubbard on captain@ttbs.org.
Sun 16th Apr 2023 Spring lunch at Maidenhead Rowing Club.
Sat 22nd Apr 2023 Visit to Fawley Hill Railway Museum. If you would like to go, please contact Cliff on events@ttbs.org before the end of January.
Sun 30th Apr 2023 Port Fonty day
Sun 14th May 2023 Port Fonty day
Sat 27th May to Mon 29th May 2023 Spring cruise. Details to follow.
Sun 11th Jun 2023 Port Fonty day
Sun 25th Jun 2023 Canoe day #1
Thu 13th Jul 2023

Work Party for the Thames Traditional Boat Festival at Henley: we have to transport all our chairs, tables and the marquee to the site and erect the tentage etc.

Meanwhile the Society boats are sculled from Port Fonty to our moorings.

Crews are needed for this and the return trip.

Fri 14th Jul to Sun 16th Jul 2023 We will be at the Thames Traditional Boat Festival (https://www.tradboatfestival.com) on Fawley Meadow, Henley.

Contact: Iain Symon at vicecaptain@ttbs.org

The tent needs a member(s) in attendance the whole time to encourage visitors to take an interest in our activities. It is a good opportunity to meet other members and take part in a row past. If you haven’t visited the show recently there are all manner of other interesting things to see.

Mon 17th July 2023 Scull boats back from the Thames Traditional Boat Festival at Henley to Port Fonty. Crews are needed: let Iain (vicecaptain@ttbs.org) know if you can help.
Mon 17th Jul 2023 to Fri 28th Jul 2023

Summer Cruise

Sun 6th Aug 2023 Open day at Port Fonty
Sat 19th – Sun 20th Aug 2023 Family Boating weekend
Sun 27th Aug 2023 Temple boating day
Sun 10th Sep 2023 Punting day
Sat 16th Sep 2023 The Great River Race
Sun 24th Sep 2023 Port Fonty day
Sun 1st Oct 2023 Canoe Day #2
Sat 7th Oct 2023 Autumn Social event
Sun 15th Oct 2023 End of season row at Richmond
Sun 5th Nov 2023 Winter Walk
Sat 18th Nov 2023 Annual Lunch
Sun 3rd Dec 2023 Winter walk